Air pollution from industrial (i.e. non-residential) sources is regulated under the policy through the setting of maximum pollution levels for various types of air pollutants including particulate matter, heavy metals, oxides of nitrogen and sulphur and carbon monoxide. Any occupier of non-domestic premises (eg. factories) emitting levels greater than those set out in the policy is guilty of an offence.

Air pollution from domestic premises is also covered by the policy.

Emissions from motor vehicles are a significant source of air pollution. New private motor vehicles have to comply with exhaust emissions standards established by the Transport and Infrastructure Council (formerly the Australian Transport Council). The Council brings together Commonwealth, State and New Zealand Ministers responsible for transport and infrastructure, as well as the Australian Local Government Association. The standards are called Australian Design Rules and are available through the website of the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Transport. For South Australian purposes they are set out in Part 3 of the Road Traffic (Light Vehicle Standards) Rules 2018 (SA).